Russia blacklists more than 380 Japanese parliamentarians

Archive – Flag of Japan – EUROPA PRESS

The Russian Foreign Ministry on Friday included a total of 384 members of Japan’s House of Representatives, the lower house of the Japanese Parliament, on its ‘blacklist’ in response to a similar situation adopted by Tokyo last April.

As reported by the Russian Foreign Ministry, these Japanese parliamentarians have taken «a hostile position against Russia» in the framework of which they have launched «unfounded accusations» against the Eurasian nation for its invasion of Ukraine, ordered by Russian President Vladimir Putin at the end of February.

Thus, the Russian Foreign Ministry has released a statement detailing the names of the more than 380 deputies who, from now on, are banned from entering the country, according to the TASS news agency.

Among the most prominent personalities are former Prime Ministers Taro Aso, head of government between 2008 and 2009; and Yoshihide Suga, who governed the Japanese nation between 2020 and 2021.

They are also joined by former defense ministers Tomomi Inada, Shigeru Ishiba and Gen Nakatani, and Tatsuo Fukuda, son of Junichiro Koizumi, who was Japan’s prime minister from 2001 to 2006.

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner